Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 5th, 2008

YES!  It’s finally off the needles!

Dragon Scale Scarf CRAPITALL!!! No thumbnails!

STATS
Pattern: Dragon-Scale Scarf by Mary Hunt
Needles: US 7 (4.5 mm) straight needles.
Yarn: 2 skeins Lion Brand Homespun (color – Hepplewhite)
Length: 8 ft. 2 in.
Width: 2.5 in. (double-thickness)
Mods: Changed the center row to only one stitch and made the garter stitch border three stitches instead of five.  So the entire pattern is 31 sts. wide instead of 36.

Note: I also did this scarf about a year ago with size 8 needles and worsted weight yarn.  The yarn I used is fantastic.  It’s a rusty red color with a pale white “frost” on it.  I’ve never seen yarn like it anywhere else; I really should post pictures.  The red scarf is not for sale under any circumstances; it was the last thing I made before Ridgeville closed and so has some very special memories attached to it.  The white scarf, however, is for sale in the store.

Dragon Scale Scarf (Detail)

Wow.  I started this mid-December (another bout of UFO syndrome), and I’m just now finishing it.  This should tell you something.  And that’s with me working almost non-stop through my J-term classes.  Speaking of – I’m back to regular school now!  Thank God Speech and CSP are over.  Still, that means I’m back to Honors English… and Chemistry… I hate Science Fair.  Hate it, hate it, hate it.  I don’t even see the point of it.  I mean, the kids hate it, the teachers hate it, the judges hate seeing projects that kids put no time into – what’s the point?!  At least this is my last year.

Oh – Honors English.  I’m reallyreallyreally excited about this semester, because – drumroll please – we get to write books!  Yes, that’s correct.  I even know what I want to do.  It’s a novella idea I’ve had since summer.  I’m not going to say any more, though, because I don’t want to spoil it!  We get little hardbound books with thirty pages, and we have to use two genres (like fiction, nonfiction, poetry, etc.), and we have to be creative with the decoration, and – ‘kay, shutting up now.

Back to the scarf.  Yes, I did make this scarf ridiculously long.  I basically knitted until I literally ran out of yarn.  I think I had maybe six inches left when I was done.  I like my scarves long, so I can wrap it around multiple times to shut out the cold.  This is also a double-thickness scarf, because the ridges in the pattern cause it to fold over when blocked.  I love, love, love this pattern.  It’s a twelve-row repeat (six-row, if you exclude the identical WS rows), and it’s so easy to memorize and keep track of.  I plan to make knee socks with this pattern soon.  However, what I really want to make is a sweater with this pattern.  Wouldn’t it be great?  In a deep forest green color?  I think it would be nice.  As I said before – this scarf is now in the store.  Asking price is $35-40, contact me if you’re interested.  And now I’m off to do Science Fair!

Read Full Post »